Top Bar

Harriton High School


Harriton Student Named Presidential Scholar

Congratulations are in order for Harriton High School's Hannah Gao, who was named a 2023 Presidential Scholar. Gao was one of only three students from Pennsylvania, and 161 students nationwide, selected for this honor.

According to the program's website, "The United States Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 to recognize and honor some of America's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. The Scholars represent excellence in education and the promise of greatness in young people. In honoring the U.S. Presidential Scholars, the President of the United States symbolically honors all graduating high school seniors of high potential."

“U.S. Presidential Scholars have always represented the future of our country and the bright promise it holds. I want each of these remarkable students to know: your passion and intellect, pursuit of excellence, and spirit of service are exactly what our country needs,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona. “On behalf of President Biden, I am delighted to join your family, friends, and communities in celebrating your accomplishments. Aim high, share your talents, and continue embracing opportunities to lead as your exciting future unfolds.”

“I am delighted to recognize Pennsylvania’s exceptional 2023 U.S. Presidential Scholars for being awarded one of the nation’s highest academic honors,” said former Lower Merion Superintendent and Pa. Acting Secretary of Education Dr. Khalid N. Mumin. “These students worked extremely hard, engaged in community service, and displayed outstanding leadership skills, and I am so proud to have them represent the Commonwealth.”

The program also recognized Harriton's Clara Zhu, who was named a finalist. Lower Merion High School students Stoyan Angelov, Julia Dubnoff, Mark Lancaseter, Eliana Pasternak, Poppy Wagner and Nathan Yu were all selected as candidates for the program, as were Harriton's Hana Boulware, Francis Fan, Sonia Gomes, Leah Kallen, Alexandros Protsos, Kevin Shen and Benjamin Zhuang.

Wishing all of these academic leaders much success in their future endeavors!