Top Bar

Lower Merion School District


LMSD Recognizes National Merit Semifinalists and Commended Students

LMSD Recognizes National Merit Semifinalists and Commended Students
LMSD Recognizes National Merit Semifinalists and Commended Students

The Lower Merion Board of School Directors will recognize the District's National Merit Commended Students and Semifinalists at the Regular Business Board Meeting on Monday, October 19, 2020, at 8:00 p.m. (via Zoom).

LMSD's 33 Semifinalists are among 16,000 recognized nationwide in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Twenty-four attend Lower Merion High School and nine attend Harriton High School. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million that will be offered next spring.

LMSD's 39 Commended students are among approximately 34,000 recognized nationwide. Twenty-three attend Lower Merion High School and 16 attend Harriton High School. Commended Students are named based on a nationally applied Selection Index score that may vary from year to year. Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, some may be candidates for Special Scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.

The Lower Merion High School Semifinalists are:

Justin Badt
Faye Berry
Lincoln Blouin
Ethan Blum
Conor Burke
Eli Forman
Alex Gerstein
Lily Guo
Emerald Lin
Claire Lu
Teresa Lu-Romeo
Lucas Markovits
Margaret Monahan
Jonathan Mosenco
Naomi Mulugeta
Fiona Pollack
Maxwell Serota
Emily Shang
Dhaval Sharma
Claire Sun
Benjamin Warren
Adin Wessels
Owen Wetherbee
Alexander Zhang

The Harriton High School Semifinalists are:

Sophie Boulware
Jessica Ermi
Laney Gold-Rappe
Benjamin Kozloff
Daniel Livshits
Lucas Reiner
Cristina Sniffen
Maria Wang
Andy Wu

The LMHS Commended Students are:

Isaac Berman
Max Blumenfeld
Ella Braunfeld
Carmen Cheng
Guanjie Cheng
Wilson Davis
Maeve Donoghue
Tamar Galvin
Trey Gannon
Elliot Ginzburg
Samuel Hecht
Melina Hillsberg
Margaret Hollis
Madison Li
Bridget McCann
Lillian McClure
Grace NcNally
Jacqueline Munis
Genevieve Oliver
Maryjane Pennington
Catherine Roser
Trevor Russin
Owen Spencer

The HHS Commended Students are:

Dario Bencardino
Dinah Day-Booth
Fiona Feng
Finnegan Glew
Sarina Goyal
Nina Hollin
Anya Jayanthi
Geoffrey Seamus Kelly
Riya Kumar
Ty Nagvajara
Lachlan Northington
Ben Raphael
Jordyn Saige Roshkoff
Avinash R. Shende
William Wang
Alexander Yung

Zoom coordinates for the Monday night meeting will be posted on the District website at 7:30 p.m. LMSD congratulates these accomplished students and their families.