Top Bar

Lower Merion School District



The Lower Merion Board of School Directors is comprised of nine members. School Directors are elected at municipal elections on odd-numbered years to serve four-year terms beginning on the first Monday in December following their election. The major responsibility of the Board is to set policies that define the nature of public education from Kindergarten through the 12th grade.

Parents and residents are encouraged to attend the Board's Business Meetings and the Education Committee Meetings. Formal action is taken only at the Business Meetings. Time is set aside for questions, comments or suggestions from the public at the beginning of each meeting. All meetings begin at 8:00 PM and are held in the Lower Merion School District Board Room, unless otherwise noted. For more information, visit the complete School Board Meeting Schedule.

Directors also serve on various Board committees, including: Communications, Curriculum, Facilities, Finance, Human Resources, Legislative, Policy and Ad Hoc Legal. Committee meetings are open to the public. Agendas, meeting minutes and committee assignments are available via the links at left.

Current members of LMSD Board of School Directors:

LMSD Board of Directors

  • Ms. Lucy Klain - President
  • Dr. Melissa Gilbert - Vice President
  • Ms. Laurie Actman
  • Mr. Ben Driscoll
  • Ms. Debra Finger
  • Ms. Shayna Kalish
  • Mr. Peter Lee
  • Mr. Shawn Mooring
  • Ms. Subha Robinson

Contact the Board

*Please note that ALL emails sent to this address will be shared with the Board. If you have general inquiries that are intended for other audiences, please email

Board Secretary, Denise LaPera


Attn: Denise LaPera, Board Secretary
301 E. Montgomery Avenue
Ardmore, PA 19003-3399

Meeting Location
Board of Directors meetings are held in the LMSD Administration Building Board Room. Parking and building access is on the School Street side of the Lower Merion High School campus (bus/natatorium entrance).