Top Bar

Lower Merion School District


Seven Aces Named National Merit Scholarship Winners
Seven Aces Named National Merit Scholarship Winners

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC®) recently announced that seven Lower Merion High School seniors have been named National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners.

The 2500 Merit Scholar designees were chosen from a talent pool of more than 16,000 outstanding Finalists in the 2020-2021 National Merit Scholarship Program. National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners are the Finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The number of winners named in each state is proportional to the state's percentage of the nation's graduating high school seniors.

These Scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors, who appraised a substantial amount of information submitted by both the Finalists and their high schools: the academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®); contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay written by the Finalist; and a recommendation written by a high school official.

StudentSchoolProbable Career Field
Naomi MulugetaLMHSBiomedical Engineering
Conor BurkeLMHSEngineering
Teresa Lu-RomeoLMHSAcademia
Fiona PollackLMHSUndecided
Faye E. BerryLMHSBiomedicine
Emily ShangLMHSBiochemistry
Dhaval SharmaLMHSComputer Science

More News

CREI Fosters Inclusivity at Lower Merion's Summer Kickoff

Nearly 500 students were in attendance at the Council for Racial Equity & Inclusion's Summer Kickoff – a fun-filled afternoon bringing together the multifarious communities that exist within school clubs to recognize achievements, celebrate diversity and encourage greater levels of inclusivity and accessibility.

Two Aces Earn Accolades in New York Times Editorial Contest

Juniors Charissa Howard and Alex Greenblatt were honored in 8th Annual Student Editorial Contest – a nationwide competition providing middle and high school students an opportunity to write opinion pieces on the issues that matter to them.