Top Bar

Lower Merion School District


LMSD Announces 2019 National Merit Semifinalists and Commended Students
LMSD Announces 2019 National Merit Semifinalists and Commended Students

Thirty-one students from Harriton High School and Lower Merion High School have been named Semifinalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship® Competition. An additional 44 students received the Commended Student designation. The Board of School Directors will recognize these students at its meeting on October 15, 2018.

The LMSD Semifinalists are among approximately 16,000 Semifinalists recognized overall in the 64th annual National Merit Scholarship® Program. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships® worth more than $31 million that will be offered next spring.

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. Over 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title.

Harriton High School Semifinalists:

Harriton National Semifinalists

Danielle BenstockMichelle Qin
Sophie BrownGuillermo Ribero-Vecino
Helena Cahn von SeelenSophia Sassoli
Francis ChalisseryAshwini Shende
Matthew GroeneveldNoah Stern
Chang-Chao HuangMax Wang
Kate KucharczukSarah Xi
David Parr

Lower Merion High School Semifinalists:

Lower Merion Semifinalists

Sidharth AnnapragadaAydan Gooneratne
Anna BarnettAsa Kosto
Andres BermudezChristina Peng
Molly CutlerEthan Springarn
Marion DonoghueKatherine Wang
Lily ElmanEdward Zhang
Grace GeZiwen Zhou

Harriton High School Commended Students:

Benjamin AbtAnna Manning
Duncan AttigGarciela McDonogh-Wong
Connor BlockEthan McKeever
Mason Coburn-WeiganRoshni Parikh
Siobhan Daley-GibsonMatthew Pearl
Emma DeutschSteven Ross
Julia ErmiReilly Short
Kayla FinnMatthew Stein
Duncan GlewNiels Terwiesch
Richard HaslamValeria Varlashova
Lauren LevySean Yoon
Greta LuoKevin Zhai

Lower Merion High School Commended Students:

Henry ChenJasper Lim-Goyette
Sarah ConstantinoNikolas Mihailidis
Madison DillonAdam Shah
Russell DoughertySpencer Shah
Ethan FrankMadeleine Shalaby
Hannah HellerDanielle Snyder
Abraham HollisDavid Sommer
Dylan HurokGrace Wei
Brandon KedsonKathy Wei
Sofia LakeAmy Xi

More News