Top Bar

Lower Merion School District


Harriton Science Olympiad continues tradition of excellence with 3rd place finish at Nationals
Harriton Science Olympiad continues tradition of excellence with 3rd place finish at Nationals

Harriton High School Science Olympiad recently traveled to Fort Collins, Colorado to compete in the 34th Annual National Science Olympiad Tournament hosted by Colorado State University as the Rams continued their tradition of excellence with a tremendous all-around performance en route to a third place finish overall.

This marks Harriton's 25th consecutive top-ten finish and third top-three finish at Nationals in as many years – the latter being a feat unmatched by any other team in the country. Harriton also claimed a fourth consecutive state championship just a few weeks ago – their 20th in the last 21 years – qualifying them to compete at the National competition.

"The students on this team work tirelessly on their events after school everyday from September to May to be able to compete at this level," said chemistry teacher and Science Olympiad co-sponsor Brian Gauvin. "Their drive to learn and succeed is commendable and they strive to represent Harriton well everywhere they go."

One of the nation's most prestigious science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) competitions, Science Olympiad brings together 120 winning middle school and high school teams advancing from state-level competitions. Rigorous hands-on and lab events led by experts from government agencies, top universities, industry and Science Olympiad state chapters cover topics in engineering, physics, epidemiology, astronomy, chemistry, meteorology and coding.

Harriton Science Olympiad State and National trophies

This year's team was led by co-captains Shangen Lu and Tom Devlin along with fellow seniors Andy Hodge, Alex Alber, Ami Zeng, Cody Trimble, Tom McKenzie-Smith, Anthony Zhu and Rob Chen. Congratulations to the graduating seniors and all team members on another outstanding season!

2nd PlaceHerpetologyAshwini Shende, Richard Haslam
2nd PlaceWrite It, Do ItShangen Lu, James Powell
3rd PlaceAstronomyTom McKenzie-Smith, Ashwini Shende
3rd PlaceMicrobe MissionRobert Chen, Sam Weissman
3rd PlaceMousetrap VehicleTom Devlin, Ben Wolfe
4th PlaceRemote SensingTom McKenzie-Smith, James Powell
4th PlaceThermodynamicsAnthony Zhu, Sam Weissman

2018 Harriton Science Olympiad Team Members: Alex Ahn, Alex Alber, Scott Blender, Sophie Boulware, Robert Chen, Sam Dececco, Tom Devlin, Alexandra Duranton, Robert Fleming, Ezra Frank, Richard Haslam, Andy Hodge, Reiko Kawasaki, Hannah Klatte, Kaelyn Klatte, Riya Kumar, Sarah Lee, Yvonne Lim, Shangen Lu, Patrick McCann, Tom Mckenzie-Smith, Yasmine Meziani, John Neary, Avery Parr, Matthew Pearl, James Powell, Michelle Qin, Liam Rodgers, Ashwini Shende, Cody Trimble, Maria Wang, Samuel Weissman, Ben Wolfe, Nicole Xiang, Saini Ye, Ami Zeng, Allison Zhang, Monali Zhao, Sunme Zhao, Anthony Zhu

More News