Top Bar

Lower Merion School District


Harriton continues legacy of leadership at TSA State Conference
Harriton continues legacy of leadership at TSA State Conference

The Harriton High School Technology Student Association (TSA) recently returned from four action-packed days of competition and leadership sessions at the 2019 Pennsylvania TSA State Leadership Conference at Seven Springs Resort in Champion, PA following an outstanding all-around performance from all of the participating students.

A total of 13 Harriton students returned to Rosemont as state champions after winning their individual and/or team events, including Max Harris, Ariadne Marg-Bracken Reese Lienau and Sarah Wi (Board Game Design); Francis Chalissery, Sam Catania, Emily Wright, Ari Beal, Julie Wright and Aditi Karhadkar (Chapter Team); Sarah Xi (Promotional Design); Francis Chalissery, Charisma Hassan, Tyler Weiss, Chad Coulter, Jacob Wanlewski and Sam Catania (SciVis); and Ari Beal, Sam Catania, Francis Chalissery and Charisma Hassan (Webmaster).

Along with Harriton's outstanding individual and team performances in the competitive events, the trip also featured several other shining moments for the Rams as they continued to demonstrate their deep involvement in TSA and commitment to service. Sam Catania, Charisma Hasan, Emily Wright and Benjamin Abt were each elected as the PA-TSA State President, Vice President, State Secretary and National TSA Reporter, respectively; the Rams created a new PA-TSA Special Interest Session as active members of the PA-TSA membership committee; and Ryan Kreiser, Kareem Majid, Zach Masterman, Ben Siderowf, Ron Nafshi, Cynthia DiPaula and Zach Manlin organized a video game tournament raising more than $500 for the American Cancer Society.

The Rams will now begin preparation for the National Conference, which will take place in June!

Congratulations to all of this year's award-winning students!

Board Game DesignMax Harris, Ariadne Marg-Bracken, Reese Lienau, Sarah Xi1st Place
Chapter TeamFrancis Chalissery, Sam Catania, Emily Wright, Ari Beal, Julie Wright, Aditi Karhadkar1st Place
Promotional DesignSarah Xi1st Place
SciVisFrancis Chalissery, Charisma Hasan, Tyler Weiss, Chad Coulter, Jacob Wanlewski, Sam Catania1st Place
WebmasterAri Beal, Sam Catania, Francis Chalissery, Charisma Hasan1st Place
BiotechnologySarah Xi, Ariadne Marg-Bracken, Emily Wright, Reese Lienau, Julie Wright2nd Place
Children's StoriesMarina Burke, Sarah Xi, Emily Wright, Ariadne Marg-Bracken, Reese Lienau3rd Place
Future Technology TeacherCharisma Hasan3rd Place
Safety IllustrationReese Lienau3rd Place
Chapter Team (Written)Francis Chalissery5th Place
On Demand VideoSam Catania, Emily Wright, Max Harris, Tyler Weiss, Ari Beal, Julie Wright6th Place
Logo DesignReese Lienau8th Place
Video Game DesignMiles Gee, Noah Braunfeld, Adam Xu, Justin Young, Jacob Wanleswki, Andrew Han8th Place
Chapter Team (Written)Emily Wright8th Place
AnimatronicsSarah Xi, Ariadne Marg-Bracken9th Place
Engineering DesignMarina Burke, Sofia Solon, Aditi Karhadkar9th Place
Promotional DesignFrancis Chalissery9th Place

Elected Officials

Elected PA-TSA State PresidentSam Catania
Elected PA-TSA State Vice PresidentCharisma Hasan
Elected PA-TSA State SecretaryEmily Wright
National TSA ReporterBenjamin Abt

More News